Toggle Content Home | Forums | Next Action | Calendar | TBK Rules | Join TBK | Challenge us | Search | TBK BF4 Leaderboard
  User Info Toggle Content

Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password
Security CodeSecurity Code
Type Code

Membership:
Latest: so0unDy
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 496

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 33
Total: 33
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Statistics
02: Forum
03: Photo Gallery
04: Photo Gallery
05: Forum
06: Photo Gallery
07: Photo Gallery
08: Forum
09: Photo Gallery
10: Photo Gallery
11: Photo Gallery
12: Forum
13: Forum
14: Forum
15: Forum
16: Forum
17: Photo Gallery
18: Forum
19: My Account
20: Photo Gallery
21: Forum
22: Forum
23: Forum
24: Forum
25: Forum
26: Forum
27: Forum
28: Forum
29: Forum
30: Forum
31: Forum
32: Photo Gallery
33: Forum

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

  Main Menu Toggle Content

Forum › Artwork, Computer, Internet & Show Off Boards › Computer Hardware Room › Good idea or not
Good idea or not
Show off your PC Specs and Computer Tech Talk
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  Computer Hardware Room

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CheeseWarrior
TBK Member
TBK Member

Offline Offline
Joined: Oct 24, 2010
Posts: 179
Location: Norfolk, England
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:58 am    Post subject: Good idea or not

Right. Last time I tried to get an upgradey thing (graphics card that time) it took ages. Now I'm expecting the same, because I've decided to do it again.
At the minute my cpu processor is a quad core phenom... sounds ok, until you see I've got possibly the second lowest powered one, at only 1.8ghz. (Its a 9150e). I thought it might be a good idea to get something better, considering steam says to run vietnam I need 2.0ghz minimum. Also, I think my 5450 can't really run at full power from the cpu power at the minute.
So I did some digging and found my Motherboard (an acer rs780hvf) can house phenom II processors with the am3 sockets. I have looked at what power my current cpu sucks up (its 65w apparently) and used that to find out what the best ghz I could get from an amd processor would be while not costing me too much (I still live on pocket money here) and I have to make sure you know this is still a FAMILY PC which means no, I can't get a different motherboard to put the processor on.
After a while I decided that my best bet was an AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.0Ghz 65w processor (Mfr#: ADX250OCGMBOX). I need your opinions as to whether this is a good choice, whether I should bother, and if I would need a new cooling system thing. If I would need a new cooling system first, or if it's just a bad idea and I should make do, I will ditch the idea. Please note also I would get PC World to put it in, I wouldn't do it myself.

If you have gotten through all this, well done. I value all comments.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
BudMan8
Friend Of TBK
Friend Of TBK

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 20, 2006
Posts: 275
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:02 am    Post subject: Re: Good idea or not

The minimum is a 2.0ghz Core 2 Duo, which is less powerful than your current processor. If you can run Bad Company 2, you can run the expansion. They have the same requirements.

If you decide to upgrade, here is a general comparison between your current processor and the X2 255. It will at least give you a general idea.

www.cpu-world.com/Comp...9150e.html

Personally if I were you, I would just stick with the processor you have now. Save up some money and buy a better quad core down the road. Going back to a dual core isn't the answer in the long run.

Hope I helped some.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Dratuk
Friend Of TBK
Friend Of TBK

Offline Offline
Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 24
Location: Sheffield
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:02 am    Post subject: Re: Good idea or not

Put the money to one side and start saving a bit more. Then look to replace the lot. Easy said I know, but its not as expensive as it was a few years ago.

Changing that CPU it wont offer that much of an advantage tbh as has already been said.

Facoring in the rip off cost from PC World then it certainly isnt worth it.

Too do a quick upgrade bsed on the following

Intel i5 760 2.8GHz Socket 1156 8MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Asrock P55 PRO motherboard

Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1066MHz i5 Memory Kit 1.5V CL7

Cost £265.78

A few years ago you would have paid double.

_________________
Old I may be, but still kicking ass!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile MSN Messenger
CheeseWarrior
TBK Member
TBK Member

Offline Offline
Joined: Oct 24, 2010
Posts: 179
Location: Norfolk, England
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:41 am    Post subject: Re: Good idea or not

Ok I will ditch the idea. Unless you can give a better suggestion for upgrade than the one I had? If not I will leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  Computer Hardware Room
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster
we are no way affiliated with EA, Medal of Honor or Battlefield trademarks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Theme created for -The Black Knights-